Police in Texas close down a lemonade stand running by two young ladies. They said it was unlawful.
Andria and Zoey Green were attempting to raise about $100 for a Father’s Day present. They wanted to take him to Splash Kingdom.
They had been selling lemonade and kettle corn for 60 minutes – and made about $25 – when officers showed up and let them know they require a $150 permit to sell their lemonade.
Texas House Bill 970, or the Texas Baker’s Bill, does not permit the sale of goods that needs time or temperature control to keep it from getting spoiled. Since lemonade should be refrigerated to prevent bacteria growth, police said they required an examination from the health department and a license to sell it.
“It is a lemonade stand, but they also have a permit that they are required to get,” Overton Police Chief Clyde Carter said.
“I think that’s ridiculous. I think they’re 7 and 8, and they’re just trying to make money for their own cause,” said Sandi Evans, the girls’ mother.
ridiculous or not, Overton police said its the law and they’ll continue enforcing it.
The sisters plan to attempt again this weekend. As opposed to selling their lemonade, they’ll give it out free of charge and accept donations.