US States Rise Against the New Travel Ban Enforced by Trump
AP Analysis: Trump travel ban risks straining Mideast ties

US States Rise Against the New Travel Ban Enforced by Trump

Along with Hawaii, three more states have contributed to a legal challenge against Trump’s controversial travel ban.

On Monday, an executive order was placed to ban people for 90-days from six Muslim majority countries, exempting Iraq from the list. Additionally, a blanket ban has been placed on refugees coming to the United States. This ban will be taking into effect on March 16th.

New York capitalizes the travel ban as a direct attack on Muslims, while Washington states the ban is harmful to the state, as reported by BBC News. Massachusetts has also joined these two states.

Furthermore, Minnesota and Oregon are reportedly filing lawsuits against the travel ban.

Even among the opposition, the White House has said it is “very confident” the ban will win in court.

Protesters storm airports nationwide from Trump’s previous executive order

Hawaii took legal action against the ban, stating that the travel ban was harmful to the Muslim population, tourism and foreign students.

The revised ban bars new visas for people from; Somalia, Iran, Syria, Sudan, Libya and Yemen. It also temporarily blocks all refugees.

Critics still claim the revised ban is an attack on Muslims.

“President Trump’s latest executive order is a Muslim Ban by another name, imposing policies and protocols that once again violate the Equal Protection Clause and Establishment Clause of the United State Constitution,” said New York Attorney General Eric T Schneiderman after announcing his legal challenge.

Washington state Attorney General Bob Ferguson, who was the first to sue over the original ban, said he would ask a federal judge to rule that the temporary restraining halting the first travel ban “remains in effect”.

“We’re asserting that the president cannot unilaterally declare himself free of the court’s restraining order and injunction,” he said, according to BBC News.

The lightly revised travel ban has excluded Iraq from the list due to the government boosting visa screening and data sharing, according to the White House.

However, the other six countries that were banned from the previous executive order, are once again added to the travel ban.

The new directive says refugees already approved by the State Department can enter the US. It also lifts an indefinite ban on all Syrian refugees.

Additionally, the ban does not hold preference over religious minorities, a critique from the previous travel ban which was judged by favoring Christian refugees.

Read the full executive order here.


Check Also

Jeff Flake Was Confronted In An Elevator By Sexual Assault Survivors After Saying He'd Vote For Kavanaugh

Jeff Flake Was Confronted In An Elevator By Sexual Assault Survivors After Saying He’d Vote For Kavanaugh

Sen. Jeff Flake, who announced Friday morning that he would vote to confirm Supreme Court nominee Brett Kavanaugh, was then confronted by sexual assault survivors in an elevator who blasted the Arizona Republican, saying, "You're telling all women they don't matter."